Marlborough Harrier Club Road Championship 5th August 2017

The 2017 Road Championship Marlborough Harrier Club was held at The Grovetown 10km circuit.
Weather conditions were perfect for road racing and most runners/walkers did personal bests over the course.
We had 4 non- members turn up for a run with one taking 1st Open Men.
Results were:
1000 metres
Girls 7 and under;
Leia Shaw 1 (5.03)
2000 metres
Boys 12 and under;
Michael James 1 (8.56), Jayden Lucas 2 (10.24)
3000 metres
Boys 14 and under;
Jimmy Luff 1 (15.19)
Girls 14 and under;
Jorja Bacchus 1 (12.13)
5000 metres
Girls 16 and under;
Anna Barnes 1 (24.36)
Sheila Waters 1 (42.43), Kay Leach 2 (43.56), Steven Hill Non Member 3 (49.36), Shona Marr 4 (49.53)
Veteran Women;
Tracey Sims 1 (25.18), Margaret Hazelwood  (25.35), Kathryn Mann 3 (32.31)
6000 metres
Men 16 and under;
Gus Marfell 1 (22.18)
Veteran Man;
Mark Elkington Non Member (30.40) Great to see Mark out on the course coming back from injury doing a shorter distance.
10000 metres
Open women;
Megan Kain 1 (56.26)
Open Men;
Stephen Blackwell Non Member 1 (36.08), Adam Baker 2 (39.15), Andrew Mann 3 (49.58) Once again Stephen arrive from North Canterbury to challenge the boys.
Veteran Men;
Robbie Barnes 1 (37.52), Seb Bacchus 2 (44.30), Peter Mann 3 (45.21)
Full results here.


Posted in News | Comments Off

5km time trial Riverlands Saturday 22nd July 2017

This event was held from Riverlands Community Hall taking in the Bike/Walk track to Cob Cottage plus and return.
Conditions were fine and warm but at times wet under foot.
Michael James and Jayden Lucas battled it out in the Boys 12 and under with Michael winning in 9.13 for 2km.
Leia Shaw who usually runs in the 7 and 10yrs and under ran the Girls 12 and under 2km course coming in at 11.36.
Jorja Bacchus took out the Girls 14 and under 3km in 15.26.
Gus Marfell and Hunter Bendell ran in the Boys 16 and under 5km with Gus in first in 19.20.
Anna Barnes took out the Girls 16 and under 5km in 25.38.
3 walkers took to the track with Alison Brooks coming in first = with Sheila Waters in 43.48.
3 runners took part in the Senior Men. Adam Baker first in 19.34 followed by Dale Smit 20.17 followed closely by Cameron Kain 20.20.
Megan Kain took out the Senior Women in 26.35.
Veteran Men was the largest field with Robbie Barnes 1st in 19.21, Ed Massey 2nd in 20.03 and Seb Bacchus 3rd in 20.56.
In the Veteran Women Tracey Sims came in 1st in 25.30, Serena Ibbotson 2nd in 25.51 and Wendy Gibson 3rd in 29.25.
These times will be used by the Handicappers when assessing times in the future handicapped road races.
Full results can be found here.

Posted in News | Comments Off

Tasman Centre Cross Country Champs 2017

Saturday 15th July – Jorja and Seb competed today over at Nelson at Branford Park in the Tasman Cross Country Champs. On a near perfect winters day, clear but cold out of the sun, much better than last year when it was raining and very slippery. Jorja won her U13 race, running the 2km in 8.19 min, that was nearly 2 minutes faster than last year. Jorja now holds the Tasman Cross Country and Athletics Champs for her age group. Seb had to run 8km which he did it in roughly 35min and coming in 4th in his age group. Great day for running and these two ran really well.

Posted in News | Comments Off

Horse, Hounds and Harriers run Saturday 8th July 2017

Had a fantastic run Saturday, one of the best, (in comparison with the CC champs which was a dreadful run for me) with the 4 H’s …… (Hounds, Horses, Hare’s and Harriers) – the club was out for around 2 hours plus with fine conditions over rolling countryside. A very civil run chasing the hounds and horses with fantastic views of Cape Campbell/Cook Strait and a very pleasant afternoon tea with the hunt master. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Thanks for the info again

Warm regards


Posted in General Blog, News | Comments Off

Marlborough Harrier Club 6 week challenge

Well the 6 week challenge is finally over we can all get back to our normal lives, congratulation to everyone who gave it a go.
I’m sure it made us all do a bit more that we would have otherwise.
The prize for $50 meal voucher along with other prizes will be drawn at the mid-winter dinner
I have pasted the results below and attached the spreadsheet.
Some interesting Stats
Total K’s run in the challenge                                                                                                           5076.9k’s – over twice the length of NZ
Most K’s completed over goal                                                                                                         Michael
Most K’s ran                                                                                                                                      Margaret – 621k’s
Biggest week                                                                                                                                       Robbie & Margaret – 132k’s
People who made their goal every week                                                                                       Michael, Anna, Leanne & Bill
Most consistent (least difference between biggest & smallest weeks)                                  Leanne 2.7k
Thanks to everyone for entering, we’ll do it again next year with a few modifications
Cheers Pete

To see all results go here.

Posted in News | Comments Off