King & Queen of the Withers 2016

This successful annual event was run on the Wither Hills Saturday 9th December 2016.
This year the Organisers decided to introduce online entries for the first time gaining 40 odd entries. This helped the lines at registration which started 7am. We had 142 finishers and 3 DNF.
The course takes you from the Rifle Range Carpark on the farm road to the base of Quail Stream then turns sharp right on the walking track to the base of the spur leading up to the Rotary Lookout. It then follows the skyline to past the Sutherland Stream track heading towards town until the trees then turn left running downhill until you meet the farm road, turn left and run back to Rifle Range Carpark finish. A distance of 10km. This course is challenging.
The race has options all over the same distance of the main race, hybrid which is a run/walk option and then the walkers.
The hybrid is for those that are not confident they can compete all the way running. This year those that finished under the 60 minutes were transferred to the main race as in the past we have had hybrid competitors coming in under the first 20 main race runner times.
Most coped with the hot, dry and windy conditions taking advantage of the water stops strategically placed along the course.
Stiff competition in all grades ensured some exciting finishes.
Results were: gh1601099870
Main 10km 1st Sam Hansby in 42.48 minutes and first Senior Man, 2nd Billy Hebberd in 44.23 minutes and 1st Vet Man home, 3rd Megan Craig 44.53 minutes and first Senior rw1601091244Woman home.
1st Marlborough Harrier Club member home was Robbie Barnes in 46.23 minutes claim the Denis Patchett Memorial trophy.
rw1601090768Hybrid 10km 1st home Jo Bray in 1.01.47 and 1st Vet Woman home, 2nd Catherine Snowden in 1.03.40 and 1st Senior Woman home and 3rd Haleigh Rayner in 1.05.49.
The highlight was seeing 8 year old Blake Hebberd come in at 31st place out of 51 in rw16010908361.18.58. A very creditable result for Blake.
gh1601099687Walking 10 km 1st Jonathon Martin in 1.17.05 and 1st Vet Man home, 2nd Helen Crampton in 1.27.36 and 1st Vet Woman, 3rd Rachel Watson in 1.29.58 and 1st Senior Woman.
Team event winners were Business House Rose Ag (Haleigh Rayner, John Kennedy, Megan Craig in a time of 2.37.00, Couples Nicola and Keiran Harris in a time of 2.06.13.
Thanks go to all competitors young and old for participating in this iconic race which has been going since 1977.
Thanks also to all organisers, officials enduring early starts, late finishes out in the hot day sun.
Thanks also to our sponsors being Wither Hills Winery (Main sponsor), AvantiPlus Blenheim and More FM.
Lastly thanks to the Management of the Wither Hills Farmpark for preparing the area so you could all enjoy the event.
Marlborough Harrier Club.

Posted in News | Comments Off

King & Queen of the Withers results 2016

These are now posted under King and Queen of The Withers page under Events. Apologies for late posting.

Posted in News | Comments Off

King and Queen of the Withers 2016

We are presently having technical problems with our website for posting of Race Results for today’s event.
We apologise for this delay and we are working to rectify this problem.

Posted in News | Comments Off

ASB Auckland Marathon 2015

The ASB Auckland Marathon and associated events were contested by over 12,000 competitors on Sunday morning. A clash with the Rugby World Cup final failed to deter several Marlborough runners from taking part in calm overcast conditions.
Starting at Devonport the first half of the marathon course is best described as ‘rolling’ with a number of hill climbs including the harbour bridge while the second half, other than two small road bridges is flat.
The full marathon doubled as the NZ Championship. These were contested by Robbie Barnes and Tracey Sims who are registered with Athletics Nelson and Marlborough Athletics respectively.

Full results are available through

For NZ Marathon Champs full results and medallists click here

Marathon (1496 finishers)
Robbie Barnes 2hrs 58min 52sec (60th overall ; 1st NZ Champs MM50-54)
Tracey Sims 4.16.48 (3rd NZ Champs MW45-49)
Paul Knight 4.24.21
12km Traverse (1965 finishers)
Anna Barnes 1hr 17min 28sec (585th overall)
Leanne Barnes 1.30.09

Posted in News | Comments Off

South Island Masters Games & Rabbit Island Rampage 2015

Dale Smit, Robbie Barnes and Tracey Sims collected medals in various events at the recent South Island Masters Games held in Nelson. The Rabbit Island Rampage doubled as the half marathon and was also open to those who weren’t competing in the games. Other club members who took part in the challenging 2-lap off-road course were Margaret Hazelwood and Bill Hunter.

Results as follows:

5 km Run

Dale Smit 19.27 (Gold SIMG – M30-34)

Robbie Barnes 18.02 (Gold SIMG – M50-54)

10 km Run

Dale Smit 40.10 (Gold SIMG – M30-34)

Robbie Barnes 39.15 (Gold SIMG – M50-54)

Rabbit Island Rampage Half Marathon Run

Dale Smit 1.36.28 (Gold SIMG – M30-34)

Margaret Hazelwood 1.55.58

Tracey Sims 2.05.15 (Silver SIMG – W45-49)

Bill Hunter 2.11.24

South Island Masters Games results

Rabbit Island Rampage results

Photos (courtesy of David Smit)

Posted in News | Comments Off